Sunday, June 22, 2008

Asia Cup 2008: An Introduction

The Venue

The 9th edition of the Asia Cup gets underway in Pakistan from Tuesday.

This is the 1st time that the Asia Cup is being held in Pakistan with the previous editions held in Sharjah (1984, 1995), India (1991), Sri Lanka (1986, 1997, 2004), and Bangladesh (1988, 2000).

The Teams

Besides the 4 Asian test playing nations, the top two Asian associate nations, Honk Kong and the UAE, are also part of the tournament as they were in 2004.

The 6 teams have been divided into 2 Groups:

Group A: Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, UAE
Group B: Pakistan, India, Honk Kong

The Format

Round 1 will take all of 3 days to complete with each team playing against the other in its Group.

Group A matches will be held in Lahore, while Group B will be based in Karachi.

The top 2 teams from each group will move forward to Round 2 where they play against each other in a Round-Robin format over a week. All matches will be held in Karachi.

The top 2 at the end of the Round-Robin stage will contest the final, which will also be played in Karachi.

The Champions

Sri Lanka are the defending champions having won the Asia Cup in 2004 at home. They have won the title on 2 pevious occassions as well - 1986 and 1997.

India have won the most Asia Cup titles with 4 victories in 1984, 1988, 1991, and 1995.

Pakistan have won it only once in 2000.

The Performers


Among the top 10 run scorers in the Asia Cup, only Sanath Jayasuriya and Mohmmad Yousuf will be playing this edition.

Jayasuriya tops the batting charts with 842 runs in 20 Asia Cup matches at an average of 46.77.

Yousuf is 10th on the same list with 392 runs in 9 matches at an average of 78.40.

Jayasuriya also tops the centuries list with 4 Asia Cup 100s, while Shoaib Malik is the only other player with more than 1 Asia Cup 100 - both his 100s came in the previous edition, a time when Malik used to bat at number 3 (Hint).

Mohammad Yousuf and Younis Khan are the only other centurions playing in this edition of the Asia Cup.


Sanath Jayasuriya is also the highest wicket taker in past Asia Cup with 20 wickets in 20 matches at an average of 30.25.

His team mates, Vaas and Muralitharan, are also among the top 10 with 18 and 16 wickes respectively.

Irfan Pathan is the only other player from those taking part in this edition to feature in the top 10 with all his 14 wickets coming in the previous tournament.

All matches will be day-night and will start at 10:00am GMT (4:00pm PST, 3:30pm IST, and 2:00pm UAE time).

Coming Soon on Well Pitched:

Asia Cup 2008: The Form Book
Asia Cup 2008: Getting to Know the UAE

Make your pitch on this post...

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,

0 Pitched:

Post a Comment