Tuesday, January 15, 2008

Which Opener will Play

The competition for Pakistan's opening slot heated up as Nasir Jamshed, the left handed opener, scored 182 for the Patron's XI against the Zimbos on day 2 of the tour match. The 18 year old faced only 240 deliveries for his highest ever first class score and hit 20 boundaries and 6 sixes. Nasir rounded up a successful first class season after ending the domestic competition as one of the leading scorers of the tournament.

Nasir is one of the several openers named by the selectors in the Patron's squad and the 21 member squad, which is currently attending the conditioning camp. The other opener playing in the 4-day game, Khalid Latif, who has been the selectors' favorite till now, fell for only 18. Afaq Raheem, the 22 year old opener, batted at 3 in the 4-day game and scored an impressive 77. Khurram Manzoor, who was the leading scorer in the domestic competition was surprisigly left out of the Patron's XI but is currently attending the conditioning camp.

The Patron's side ended day 2 of the match on 361-3 with Naumanullah unbeaten on 48 and Fawad Alam on 28. Earier on day 1 the Zimbos were bowled out for 209 with skipper Shahid Afridi picking up 4 wickets, and the other spinner Yasir Shah chipping in with 3. The new pace sensation, Sohail Khan, failed to pick up a wicket though.

Here is the scorecard.

Make your pitch on this post...

4 Pitched:

  1. Anonymous said...

    khuram manzoor was not leading runs scorer in the domestic cricket it was Naumanullah,umar akmal, shoaib khan, then Afaq Raheem

  2. Q said...

    No Anonymous that is not correct.

    Naumanullah was the leading scorer in this year's Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, however if you take a look at the 2007-08 first class season, Khurram Manzoor is the leading run scorer followed by Naumanullah.

    Naumanullah, however took over Khurram Manzoor after his 86 against Zimbabwe in the 4-day game which Khurram Manzoor did not play.

    Here are the leading run scorers for this season:


    When I had written the article Naumanullah had 949 runs and he was behind Khurram on this list. Since then Naumanullah has over taken Khurram with the 86 I mentioned.

    Here is the list of leading run scorers in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy:


  3. Anonymous said...

    i do not know how you worked it out but check out folhttp://www.pcboard.com.pk/Pakistan/Events/Quaid-e-Azam_Trophy_2007-08/Batting_by_Average.htmllowing link
    Naumanullah 949runs,umar Akmal 855,shoaib khan 884,Afaq Raheem 801,Nasir Jamshed 800,shadab kabir791, hasan raza785,Asif Zakir 781,KHURAM MANZOOR 780 runs according to pcb figures,he is in top ten

  4. Q said...

    You are right about the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy Anonymous. That is who the leading scorers are.

    But as I said if you take a look at the overall season including all first class matches - there have been those involving Pakistan A, Patrons XI, and the Quaid Trophy - then Khurram Manzoor is on the top. Or was when I wrote the article nd Naumanullah took over after his 86 against Zimbabwe.

    Here is the link again:

    And here is the list:

    Naumanullah 1035 64.68
    Khurram Manzoor 1025 53.94
    Nasir Jamshed 982 61.37
    Shoaib Khan 884 52.00
    Afaq Raheem 878 62.71

Post a Comment