Thursday, December 25, 2008

Punjab Stallions Champs

The Punjab Stallions remained unbeaten throughout the competition and won the inaugral Pentangular One Day Cup, beating the Federal Areas Leopards easily in the final.

218 was never going to be enough for the in-form Stallions' batting line up and as expected Azhar Ali, Nasir Jamshed, and Salman Butt easily chased the total in 42 overs leading the Stallions to an 8 wicket win.

Despite a solid 77 from Umar Amin and useful contributions from Babar Naeem and Mohammad Salman, the Leopards innings never got going as they folded for only 218 in 48 overs.
Wahab Riaz was the pick of the bowlers with a 5 wicket haul, and Shoaib Malik continued his good form with the ball.
Brief Scores:

Federal Areas Leopards 218 all out (Umar Amin 77, Babar Naeem 39, Wahab Riaz 5-44, Shoaib Malik 1-28) lost to Punjab Stallions 219-2 in 41.5 overs (Azhar Ali 87*, Nasir Jamshed 63, Salman Butt 51) by 8 wickets.

Make your pitch on this post...

Labels: , , , , ,

0 Pitched:

Post a Comment