Sunday, March 9, 2008

Welome Back ICL!

The 2nd edition of the ICL gets underway today and the tournament is bigger and better than the pervious one. Smartly scheduled with the start a month before the IPL and the end over a week before the IPL kicks off, the 'Edelweiss 20s Challenge' starts today with a match between the Ahmedabad Rockets and the Chandigarh Lions.

The ICL has managed to rope in the financial services firm 'Edelweiss' as its sponsor and a deal has also been brokered with Ten Sports to telecast the matches along with the owner's channel Zee Sports. Reportedly the TV rights have been sold for $5 million, half of what the IPL is getting from Sony per annum.

I reported on the composition of the all Pakistan outfit, Lahore Badshahs, previously. All the Pakistani players will be representing one team apart from Shabbir Ahmed and Abdul Razzak who will play for the same teams as last year. Here is a look at the other teams in the competition.

Ahmedabad Rockets
Captain: Damien Martyn
International Stars: Jason Gillespie, Wavell Hinds, Murray Goodwin, Heath Streak
Indian Stars: Reetinder Sodhi, Sridharan Sriram
Coach: John Emburey

Mumbai Champs
Captain: Brian Lara
International Stars: Nathan Astle, Tino Best, Micheal Kasprowicz, Johan Van Der Wath
Indian Star: Robin Morris
Coach: Sandip Patel

Chandigarh Lions
Captain: Chris Cairns
International Stars: Matthew Elliot, Andrew Hall, Lou Vincent, Daryl Tuffey
Indian Stars: Dinesh Mongia, Manish Sharma
Coach: Balwinder Sandhu

Kolkata Tigers
Captain: Craig McMillan
International Stars: Lance Klusener, Andre Adams, Upul Chandana, Nantie Hayward
Indian Stars: Rohan Gavaskar, Deep Dasgupta, Abhishek Jhunjunwala
Coach: Daryll Cullinan

Chennai Superstars
Captain: Stuart Law
International Stars: Micheal Bevan, Russel Arnold, Ian Havey, Adam Parore, Shabbir Ahmed
Indian Stars: Thiru Kumaran, Hemang Badani
Coach: Micheal Bevan (Player / Coach)

Hyderabad Heroes
Captain: Chris Harris
International Stars: Abdul Razzak, Nicky Boje, Justin Kemp, Jimmy Maher
Indian Stars: Ambati Rayudu, Shashank Nag
Coach: Steve Rixon

Delhi Giants
Captain: Marvan Atapattu
International Stars: Shane Bond, Dale Benkenstien, Avishka Gunuwardene, Nic Pothas
Indian Stars: JP Yadav, Abbas Ali, Ali Murtaza
Coach: Madan Lal

Round 1 that kicks off today will comprise of 28 matches with each team playing the other once and the top 4 qualifying for he semis. The finals will be a best of 3 series.

All the Pakistanis will be rooting for the Lahore Badshahs, who are you rooting for?

I can't wait to watch Inzamam Ul Haq!!!

Make your pitch on this post...

Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,

0 Pitched:

Post a Comment