Monday, April 17, 2017

Take a look at the top IPL Captains who’ve enjoyed great success

Top 5 Most Successful Captains in IPL Cricket
The role of the captain, according to Steve Waugh, is to combine 10 individuals’ contrasting personalities and ensure they are all moving in the same direction, by treating them both equally and differently. This encompasses how important a good captain of any kind of sports team is, but particularly cricket.

Read on for a list of the top 5 captain’s throughout the IPL’s history.

Number 5: Shane Warne
Shane Warne, known as one of the most colourful cricketers ever, has stayed in the news, whether for sports achievements or other shenanigans. He is very often referred to as the best captain that Australian never had, and managed to lead Australia in 11 ODIs, while winning 10. His captaincy of the Rajasthan Royals has been heralded as nothing short of sublime, as he led the unfancied team to victory on several occasions.

Number 4: Gautam Gambhir
Gautam Gambhir’s stint as IPL captain began with the Delhi Daredevils in 2009, when he replaced Virender Sehwag and led the team to the South African semi-finals. In the following season, he became a full-time captain, but his true skills were only revealed when his move to the Kolkata Knight Riders was effected, where he managed to lead his team to 2 IPL titles in both 2012 and 2014. Cricket bets backing this gentleman’s team during this time would’ve seen a pretty penny returned!

Number 3: Mahendra Singh Dhoni
Cricket fans may be surprised that Mahendra Singh Dhoni did not feature as the number 1 most successful captain of IPL teams, and, truth be told, if overall impact was a factor then he undoubtedly would be. This, however, is not the criteria for this list, and so he ranks at number 3.
He has continued his success as the captain for the Chennai Super Kings, leading them to knockout phases in 8 successive seasons, and winning the tournament not once, but twice, in 2010 and 2011. He also had them as runners up a total of 4 times.

Number 2:  Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma became the Mumbai Indians captain when Ricky Ponting gave up the role in 2013. The leadership change impacted very positively on the team’s fortunes, and they won the title that year. A reasonable strike rate combined with 538 runs made Sharma Mumbai’s highest and 6th highest run-getter in that season and he led the Indians to a 2015 title as well.
The finals, against the Chennai Super Kings at Eden Gardens, saw Sharma manage a 26-ball 50, and he was certainly instrumental in Mumbai’s score of 202 runs in 20 overs.

Number 1: Sachin Tendulkar
Sachin Tendulkar’s name on the top of this list may surprise some, since he did not have a particularly memorable stint as captain of Team India. Numbers, however, do not lie, and Tendulkar’s win percentage of 58.82 makes him the single most successful IPL captain when one goes by victory percentage.

Tendulkar does not have the title of an IPL win as captain, but he has managed to lead his team to the finals, most notably in the 2010 season. Mumbai had to cede the finals to the Chennai Super Kings by 22 runs, in spite of Tendulkar’s 48 runs, and he was the 2010 IPL edition’s leading scorer overall, with 618 runs at a 47.53 average.

Make your pitch on this post...

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Pitched:

  1. Unknown said...
      This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
  2. Unknown said...
      This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
  3. Aerek sir said...

    Get100% free cricket betting tips prediction with jackpot and mini jackpot advance prediction in all cricket matches by expert Aerek Sir.
    Get free ipl betting tips and prediction with 100% accuracy. Mini Jackpot and jackpot confirm prediction, match winner, toss and many more.
    Get your all online cricket betting tips free with accuracy and 100% no loss and earn much more profit guarantee with us, Bet365 online site.
    Get all free Cricket PSL betting tips and prediction from Expert Aerek Sir with confirm jackpot and mini jackpot matches, no loss Guarantee.
    Bbl betting tips and prediction 100% free. Bbl winner, jackpot, mini jackpot, no loss and advance prediction of toss and betting by Expert.
    Caribbean premier league 2021 date, time, schedule, teams and final. Get all Cpl 2021 match prediction from expert with no loss guarantee.
    Free Cricket Betting Tips
    free IPL betting tips
    Online Cricket Betting Tips free
    psl betting tips
    bbl betting tips
    Caribbean premier league 2021
    Indian premier league 2021

Post a Comment